The first Christian Science lecture delivered in the city was given by Judge Ewing in the fall of 1900, and the first lecture in the church edifice was given by Mr. Arthur deCamp on May 13, 1930. During the year 1946 the church indebtedness was completely liquidated, and the church was formally dedicated at the regular morning service on Sunday, January 19, 1947. At this service a brief history of the church was read by the First Reader. The church edifice was destroyed by fire November 2, 1981, and a new structure was erected at the same location. Approximate cost of the new church building, organ and furnishings was $506,000. The first service in the new constructed church edifice was held on Easter Sunday, April 3, 1983. Morning and afternoon dedication services of the new structure and an afternoon lecture were on Sunday, September 11, 1983. The Reading Room was moved from its location at 623 Cherry Street to be incorporated into the Church / Sunday School as of May 1, 2002.